Being appointed a Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society is one of the highest honours that can be bestowed upon our Members. Through a scheme of delegation the role of awarding Fellowships is now the responsibility of the Pharmacy Forum Board.

It is an honour which recognises those individuals who have attained distinction in a particular aspect or aspects of their pharmacy career. As Fellowships are based on nominations from Members of the Pharmaceutical Society NI, it also signifies the esteem in which a Member of the Pharmaceutical Society NI is held by his or her peers, and as such is a mark of achievement which all Members should aspire to.

Nominations are now closed. The next application process will take place in 2022.

• The procedure for nomination of a Fellow requires that those nominated must have distinguished themselves in the science, practice or profession of pharmacy and have promoted the profession to an exceptional degree or have rendered outstanding service to the community at large.
• The seniority expected of Fellows would normally require a minimum of ten years in practice but nominations for less experienced members will be accepted and judged against the criteria given.

Any Member of the Pharmaceutical Society can nominate another Member for a Fellowship providing they can demonstrate through the application process that they meet the eligibility criteria above. The nominator’s proposal should be supported by two further Members and either the nominator or at least one of the supporters must be a current Fellow. Needless to say, the person under consideration should not be aware of the nomination.

Anyone nominating a Member for a Fellowship is asked to complete the nomination form and provide a supporting statement (see supplementary guidance). Applications are assessed by a panel of Fellows, chaired by the Chair of the Pharmacy Forum, and recommendations are made to the Pharmacy Forum Board for consideration. The panel of Fellows can only make their decision on the evidence submitted as part of the nomination process.

Nominations can be submitted at any time for consideration at the next panel meeting; however the closing date for this year’s nominations is Wednesday 19 February 2020 at 5pm.

Application forms and supporting documentation should be completed by the Principle Nominator and e-mailed to sharon.bell@psni.org.uk or posted to Sharon Bell, 73 University Street, Belfast, BT7 1HL and marked confidential.

Current Fellows of the Pharmaceutical Society NI

Muriel Singleton
Dr Michael Gordon Scott
Sheelagh Hillan
Dr Colin Adair
Dr Katherine McClelland
Professor James Charles McElnay
Dr Terry Maguire
Prof Michael Mawhinney
Brendan Kerr
Raymond Anderson
David Jones
Sarah Mawhinney
Anne Friel
Roberta Tasker
Joe Brogan
Tracey Boyce
Sheelin McKeagney
Cora Sonner
Prof. Carmel Hughes
Loretto McManus